21st Century Learing #30: Media Literacy

EdTechTalk: 21st Century Learning #30

A Conversation about Media Literacy

With Adam Kenner and Sheryl Rivera from the Action Coalition for Media Education New York Chapter

January 30, 2007

Download mp3 (1:00:50, 28.5 MB)



A amazing conversation with With Adam Kenner and Sheryl Rivera from Horace Mann School and the Action Coalition for Media Education New York Chapter. This is a must listen for educators and parents in our wired world

Check out the Chat Transcript for Media Literacy resources

 

EdTechTalk: 21st Century Learning #30

A Conversation about Media Literacy

With Adam Kenner and Sheryl Rivera from the Action Coalition for Media Education New York Chapter

January 30, 2007

Download mp3 (1:00:50, 28.5 MB)



A amazing conversation with With Adam Kenner and Sheryl Rivera from Horace Mann School and the Action Coalition for Media Education New York Chapter. This is a must listen for educators and parents in our wired world

Check out the Chat Transcript for Media Literacy resources

 

Welcome to the Worldbridges Chat Room

[sheryl & adam] Alliance for Community Media at http://www.alliancecm.org

Campaign for a Commercial-Free Childhood http://www.commercialfreechildhood.org

CCTV at http://www.cctv.org/index.htm

Center for Digital Democracy at http://www.democraticmedia.org

Center for Media and Democracy at http://www.prwatch.org

Dads and Daughters/Joe Kelly at http://www.dadsanddaughters.org

Democracy Now at http://www.democracynow.org

Jean Kilbourne at http://www.jeankilbourne.com

Free Press/Bob McChesney at http://www.mediareform.net

Bob McCannon at http://www.bobmccannon.org

Media Education Foundation/Sut Jhally at http://www.mediaed.org

Media Literacy Clearinghouse/Frank Baker at http://www.frankwbaker.com

MemeFILMS at http://www.memefilms.org

New Mexico Media Literacy Project at http://www.nmmlp.org

Project Censored at http://www.projectcensored.org

Prometheus Radio Project at http://www.prometheusradio.org

Reclaim Your Culture at http://reclaimyourculture.com

Stay Free magazine at http://www.stayfree.org

TV-B-Gone at http://www.tvbgone.

[arvind (host)] Bob McCannon: http://www1.medialiteracy.com/speakers_detail.jsp?id=22

[arvind (host)] Dove’s campaign for real beauty: http://www.campaignforrealbeauty.com/

[arvind (host)] Hillary Clinton videocasts: http://www.hillaryclinton.com/

[arvind (host)] The Persuaders from Front Line: http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/persuaders/

[Alex R] 24

[arvind (host)] Tube of Plenty: http://www.us.oup.com/us/catalog/general/subject/Communication/FilmTelevisionStudies/?view=usa&ci=9780195064841

[arvind (host)] media lit education + parental involvement + restricted media diet = the complete package

[arvind (host)] one is not enough

[Alex R] Quiet the clutter.

[Alex R] Hi Tom, Welcome.

[Alex R] Where are you from?

[tomh] Hi Alex

[tomh] From NY working in Connecticut

[Alex R] Welcome.

[Alex R] Who produced this media?

[Alex R] Why did they produce it?

[Alex R] Questions to answer…

[Alex R] My son’s friend (3) was yelling about her new Mini in school yesterday — and she was proudly wearing her mini bmw future driver sweater.

[Alex R] Movie: The Corporation

[Alex R] Teaches kids to nag more effectively.

[Alex R] For girls, body image helps parents get involved.

[arvind (host)] Suggestion from Adam and Sheryl is to have a parent media night with presentation

[Alex R] Cheryl and Adam, What are your email addresses?    

[arvind (host)] or website_

[Alex R] Violence in prime time.

[arvind (host)] the facts about sexual violence against young people http://www.districtadministration.com/pulse/commentpost.aspx?news=no&postid=18080

[Alex R] Lessig: http://www.wizards-of-os.org/programm/live_stream.html

[arvind (host)] my diatribe on this here http://21apples.org/articles/2007/01/19/myspace-sued-by-4-families-of-abused-children

[Alex R] A great post and conversation, Arvind.

[Alex R] freepress.net

[Alex R] mediareform.com

[Alex R] acmeny.org

[Alex R] onethemedia.org

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

css.php